SHONEN KNIFE Sweet Candy Power CD


SKU: 338 Categories: ,


Japan’s evergreen sugar-coated punk powerpopsters return with a new album and another Australian tour. New album “Sweet Candy Power” is out now worldwide and long with tours in Europe, Japan, UK and USA… they will then return to Australia as special guests on the REGURGITATOR 25th anniversary tour. The tour kicks off in Adelaide and also includes a super special slot on the THE LOST LANDS festival on NOV 3.

In Since their pure DIY beginnings in 1981, Osaka, Japan’s Shonen Knife have been building a faithful following of music enthusiasts and the alternative rock elite. Their relentless journey secured the band’s place as one of the pioneer ambassadors of Japanese rock music and culture on the international stage.

In 2019 the trio charges ahead towards their 4th decade of international touring and recording with their 19th studio release “Sweet Candy Power”.The band features original members (and sisters) Naoko on Vocals and Guitar, Atsuko on Bass and Vocals and introduces their newest member, Risa, on Drums and Vocals. Naoko describes the “Sweet Candy Power” album as “This album is homage to my favorite 1960’s and 1970’s rock music. Also I put all of enjoyment, entertainment, joyful and delightful from me into songs. Inspired by my experience during tours and my daily life, I wrote lyrics with fun and a little bit of ironical viewpoint. I hope people get happy through this album.” presented through the lens of SK’s charismatically executed, sunshine and candy filled fantasy world. 

Their latest release “Sweet Candy Power” features 10 brand new songs including the first single/video “I Feel Dizzy,” and the title track “Sweet Candy Power”.

Shonen Knife continued to tour worldwide, sharing the stage with bands such as Nirvana, Redd Kross and Sonic Youth offering performances at London’s All Tomorrow’s Party, Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest, Fuji Rock Festival and the Lollapalooza. In support of their newest release the girls will be touring in Europe in May/June including Primavera Sound and are in the throes of global touring for 2019!

1. Party
2. Dizzy
3. Sweet Candy Power
4. My Independent Country
5. Wave Rock
6. Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches
7. Never-Never Land
8. Peppermint Attack
9. California Lemon Tree
10. Match 3