Top » Catalog » Dear Nora » V84


DEAR NORA - There is no Home (album)

DEAR NORA - There is no Home (album)
DEAR NORA: There Is No Home V84 Katy Davidson has been Dear Nora since the summer of 1999. Dear Nora, occasionally a full band, features a cast of rotating members, currently a five-piece, featuring Davidson on guitar, Jake Longstreth (Wolf Colonel) on guitar, Jaime Knight (#Poundsign#) on bass, Nora Roman on percussion, and Antonio Roman-Alcal� (Hello Noisy) on drums. The band was born in Portland and is currently based in Los Angeles. After two full length records and an E.P. on Magic Marker Records (Portland, Oregon) There is No Home, Dear Nora�s newest�and final�release, is the follow-up to 2004�s Mountain Rock. Mountain Rock was an introspective, metaphorical odyssey through a mountainous wilderness (through life�s ups and downs). There is No Home, which was recorded by Davidson in San Francisco between 2004 and 2006, is the delinquent cousin of Mountain Rock, the relative that moved to the city and got a glimpse of the dark side. It takes place in landscape of modern ruins, empty lots full of broken glass, crusty California hills, smoggy desert. It�s a psychedelic daydream sporadically interrupted by harsh tokes of modern life. There is No Home is about accepting an estranged fate as an eternal outcast in a landscape so beautiful and so damaged. In all the ways that Mountain Rock was about magic in nature, There is No Home is about nature in ruin. Whereas Mountain Rock was stripped-down and simple and acoustic, There is No Home, is often loud and raucous. Drawing from influences as diverse as the Roches and Alice Coltrane, Davidson�s style has always been heady and ethereal, awkward and beautiful, sarcastic and kind. Dear Nora toured Australia in 2006 and will hopefully be back here soon. DEAR NORA album: V84 There is no Home � out June 2 CD & digital via MGM

Customers who bought this product also purchased
LLOYD & MICHAEL Just as God Made Us album
LLOYD & MICHAEL Just as God Made Us album
Share Product
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
1 x The Datsuns - DEEP SLEEP vinyl
1 x LIFE SUPPORT tour shirt GREEN
2 x LIFE SUPPORT tour shirt WHITE
1 x Hawnay Troof - Dollar & Deed double album
1 x BROKEN DOLL - Australian tour EP
1 x PONYLOAF - OComplex
1 x THE STALKERS - Rock n Roll ep
1 x MONO - Hymn to the Immortal Wind
1 x LIFE SUPPORT tour shirt GREY
1 x regurgiPATCH
1 x I HEART HIROSHIMA album The Rip CD
2 x Regurgitator - DIRTY POP TOUR 2013 shirt
2 x ALIENATED shirt
2 x Sixfthick - Lap of Luxury
3 x Soundsurgery - Free Moving Radicals
1 x SPOD - Superfrenz
1 x 2ND HAND CDs albums
1 x Regurgitator Smoke Crack Badge
1 x RATATAT tour shirt 2016 - BLACK
1 x BEN ELY - Strange Tales of Drugs & Lost Love - CD
1 x Soundsurgery - Syndustry
1 x Regurgitator TSHIRT r
2 x Regurgitator - Bong In My Eye CD (V58)
1 x MONO - Gone: A Collection of EPs 2000-2007
2 x Scul Hazzards - House of Heads CD (V81)
2 x MONO - Tshirt Battle
1 x KUNZITE - Bird's Don't Fly VINYL (Ratatat/White Flight)
1 x AN HORSE - Not Really Scared
1 x KILEY GAFFNEY -Sweet Meat
1 x FULL FATHOM FIVE - (07) Seven
1 x THE LOOM OF RUIN by Sam McPheeters
1 x Stereo Total - Parti Anticonformiste
1 x Sixfthick - Daddys Home
1 x Sixfthick - Chicken
1 x The Zoobombs - Way In Way Out CD (V73)
1 x RICK FIGHTS - Fights (10" VINYL)
1 x Audio Active - Spaced Dolls
1 x QUAN - Sneakerhead vinyl toy
1 x Kid606 - Who Still Kill Sound