Top » Catalog » Jane Woody »


JANE WOODY Big Breaths Little Lungs album

JANE WOODY Big Breaths Little Lungs album
V96 ex-member of I Heart Hiroshima - Mel goes solo. VIDEO "Jane Woody – which is actually the solo outfit name for Mel Ralph, former drummer and singer in Kicks and then I Heart Hiroshima – doesn’t write long tracks. But they are pretty amazing. Track one, Coblers Pegs – which is missing an apostrophe—grrrrr! – goes for only 47 seconds. But in that time we are treated to something fun, a bit Murmurs and a great introduction to the girly, light yet gritty rocky tunes that follow. ‘Hello, are you there? / I had to explain the reasons why I care / I’ve compiled a list if you can just give me a minute / I may be able to rescue this.’ Haven’t we been there? The title of this gem is You’ve Fucked It Now Entirely. Fab. It’s very electronica for a drummer. Ode To Depeche Mode is a great example. I don’t know if I like the lyrics (which are all really ideas-based and true to life) or the micro sounds better. It’s not a mind blowing album, but it’s painfully and brilliantly familiar, cosy and cute yet impressive. I think Miranda July would like this CD. I have a friend who does crazy things like sneak seeds into people’s gardens. ‘Why do I have a pumpkin growing in my roses?’ sort of style. She also dresses as a pirate sometimes. For the hell of it. I think Jane Woody goes well with her style. But you don’t have to be that kooky to be into it. I love this CD. I love that she’s an Aussie, I love the music, the words, the smartness of it. I even love the cover art. And while I wish that the songs went for a little bit longer, I’m glad they don’t. It wouldn’t be the same."
Share Product
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
1 x PONYLOAF - OComplex
1 x Quan & Spod presents BLOX
1 x QUAN - Gimme Gimme RMX EP
1 x QUAN - Sneakerhead vinyl toy
1 x QUAN amateur Tshirt
1 x RATATAT 2016 tour shirt WHITE
1 x RATATAT tour shirt 2016 - BLACK
1 x RICK FIGHTS - Fights (10" VINYL)
1 x RICK FIGHTS - Fights (CD)
1 x SCUL HAZZARDS - Count Less Dead EP
1 x Scul Hazzards - House of Heads CD (V81)
1 x SECRET BIRDS new album Alseep on the Dragon
1 x Sekiden - Sound Instincts CD (V71)
1 x SHONEN KNIFE - Adventure
1 x SHONEN KNIFE - Overdrive
1 x SHONEN KNIFE - READY! SET!! GO!!! Adventure Tour VINYL
1 x SHONEN KNIFE - Supergroup
1 x SHONEN KNIFE Australian tour poster
1 x SHONEN KNIFE READY! SET!! GO!!! Adventure Tour CD
1 x Sixfthick - Chicken
1 x Sixfthick - Daddys Home
1 x Sixfthick - Lap of Luxury
1 x Soma Rasa - I Mix therefore I am album
1 x Soundsurgery - Free Moving Radicals
2 x Soundsurgery - Syndustry
1 x Quan & Spod presents BLOX
2 x SPOD - Superfrenz
1 x Stereo Total - Musique Automatique
1 x Stereo Total - Parti Anticonformiste
1 x TAYLOR SAVVY - Ladies & Gentleman
1 x The Bird - Birdville Sessions CD (V70)
1 x SUPER LIMITED YELLOW VINYL - The Datsuns Deep Sleep
1 x THE DATSUNS - Deep Sleep
1 x The Datsuns - DEEP SLEEP vinyl
3 x THE STALKERS - Rock n Roll ep
1 x The Zoobombs - Way In Way Out CD (V73)
1 x Zoobombs - B*B*B
1 x TRANS AM - Thing (album)
1 x Ladyfest Brisbane - Ladyfingers CD (V82)
1 x WIRE - Send
1 x ZA! - Wanananai
1 x ZA! Loloismo
1 x ZA! Tshirt
1 x Boy from Brazil
1 x GOTA COLA album Guaranteed Rustless
1 x Audio Active - Spaced Dolls
1 x CURSE OV DIALECT - Twisted Strangers CD
1 x Frikstailers - En Son de Paz
1 x JOHNNY CONQUEST Uptown for the Americas